Toronto has been the first place that I’ve seen mulberry trees grow. I have been seeing them around town, and the other day, I saw someone eating from the tree. We were walking over to the parade, and noticed that there was a person under the mulberry tree picking fruit off the tree and eating. It had never crossed my mind to actually eat the fruit. We stopped and had a few berries.

eating mulberries off the tree

The ripe berries fell off of the branch once you touched them and are the colour of blackberries. The shape of the mulberries were longer and less plump than blackberries. They tasted less sweet, and more delicate.

mulberries on a rainy day

The whole thing reminds me to try to figure out how to preserve fruits and vegetables. Or, just to stop and eat mulberries instead of hurrying off somewhere.

